Something Different

So I decided to try something a bit different for this post. I’m going to share some poetry that I’ve been working on. It’s nothing final, but I thought that it would be interesting to share something. The piece (untitled for now) is meant to represent political weariness and social consciousness. It feels a bit weird to introduce my own poem, as I don’t typically write poetry, but here it is:

I am the free man
An apostate of my convictions
With eyes sewn open, body bound, and mind entombed
I am free

I am the free man
Sipping words that slither from opulent carafes
Finding contentment in disillusion
I am free

I am the free man
Sinking deeper into velveteen
Plunging hastily into scarlet comfort
I am free

I am the free man
Mixing ferocity with ivory tablets
Dulling insatiable self-loathing
I am free

I am the free man
Hearing whispers in the wind
Seeing cracks in stone pillars
Tarring rose-sequined lashes
They fear the man that proclaims
I am free
But knows it to be false

 

Leave a Reply

